J.G. Taylor Award

The J.G. Taylor Award is awarded to candidates who have impacted the profession and the public they serve; exemplified The Institute’s Code of Professional Conduct; had a positive impact on the community as a whole; and participated in the industry, either with The Institute or Advocis, and/or within other professions in the financial services industry.

2017 Recipients:

J. Lewis Warke, CFP, CLU, CH.F.C
Terry Zavitz, BMusA, CFP, CLU, CHS, GBA, EPC, TEP

2016 Recipients:

Harley Lockhart, CLU, CH.F.C.
Terry G. Zive, CLU, CH.F.C., CHS, FLMI, TEP

2015 Recipients:

James R. McPherson, CFP, CLU, CH.F.C.,
Susan St. Amand, CFP, CLU, CH.F.C., TEP, FEA, ICD.D

2014 Recipients:

Floyd Murphy, CFP, CLU, CH.F.C.,
Ian L. Colborne, BA, CFP, CLU, CH.F.C.


deHaerne Trophy

The deHaerne trophy symbolizes “integrity and knowledge.” It is awarded annually to the local chapter that has made the most outstanding contribution to the furtherance of CLU studies.

2016 Recipient:
Golden Triangle Chapter

2015 Winner:
Medicine Hat Chapter

2014 Recipient:
The Greater Hamilton Chapter

Student Awards

The John Tory Award for CLU® Studies

The Tory Award is awarded annually to CLU graduates who achieve the highest average for all course subjects without failing any of the CLU examinations.

2017 Winner:
Rebekah Earle, CFP, CLU

2016 Winner:
Mr. Patrick Uzan, CPA, CA, CLU, TEP

2015 Recipient:
Susan Smythe, CFP, CLU, CFA
2014 Recipient:
Victoria Reynolds, CLU, CHS
2013 Recipient:
Gregory J. Baldwin, CLU Testimonial

The Leslie W. Dunstall Award for CLU® Studies

The Dunstall Award is presented to candidates in each province who achieve the highest examination marks for all CLU course subjects.

2017 Winners:
Craig R. Strain, CFP, CLU
Alejandro Mejia, CFP, CLU
Adam William Buss, CFP, CLU
Darren Patrick Ryan, CFP, CLU
Tim Hunter Brown, CFP, CLU
*Julia D. Hoo, CFP, CLU – *Julia is a Dev student and will receive two awards for 2017 CFP and CLU
Jian Sun, CFP
Trent D. Chekay, CFP, CHS

2016 Winners:
Ms. Suzanna Winsborough CFP, CLU – Mississauga, Ontario
Mr. Jake Lockhart CFP, CLU, CHS – Kelowna, British Columbia
Mrs. Nancy Byrne CFP, CLU, CHS – St. John, New Brunswick

2015 Recipients:
Dane Ozorio, CFP, CLU, CHS
Sukhvinder “Suki” Chahal, CFP, CLU
Kent Nash, CLU

2014 Recipients:
Laura Dear, CFP, CLU, CHS – Edmonton, Alberta
Shannon Hood, CLU, CHS – Vancouver, BC
Trevor Doyle, CFP, CLU, RHU – Winnipeg, MB
Jessica Baker, CFP, CLU, FLMI – Saint John’s, NF
Dwight Dobersheck, CFP, CLU, FMA, CIM – Prince Albert, SK

2013 Recipients:
Tracy L. MacNeil, CFP, CLU – Dartmouth, Nova Scotia
Roch P. Martin, CFP, CLU – St. John’s, Newfoundland
Dustin J. Daniel, CLU – Calgary, Alberta
Jason C. Boudreau, CLU – Vancouver, British Columbia

The Institute’s CHS® Program Award

The Institute’s Certified Health Insurance Specialist (CHS) Program Award is awarded annually to CHS graduates who achieve the highest average for all course subjects without failing any of the CHS examinations.

2017 Winner:
Dale I. Niman, CHS

2016 Winner: Mr. Geoffrey Barrett, CHS

2015 Recipient: Risa Jean Fahy, CFP, CHS
2014 Recipient: Carlo Vetere, CLU, CHS
2013 Recipient: Edward Wheatley, CHS